Canucks Finish Young Stars Classic With 4-3 OT Loss To Calgary

By Aaron Vickers

Sept 19, 2016

PENTICTON, BC — Ryan Lomberg scored twice, including the overtime winner, to lift the Calgary Flames to a 4-3 win against the Vancouver Canucks in the Young Stars Classic finale at South Okanagan Events Centre on Monday.

“I’ve just got to stand out,” Lomberg said. “Stand out and do whatever I can to push myself above the rest. There are a lot of guys here on NHL contracts and stuff like that … being one of the only guys on an American Hockey League contract, I know I have to go the extra step or the extra mile. I have to do a little bit extra to make them notice and stop and say, ‘We like that kid.’”

Dennis Kravchenko and Eetu Tuulola also scored for the Flames (2-0-1).

Michael Carcone, Jordan Subban, Yan-Pavel Laplante scored for the Canucks (1-1-1).

Lomberg, signed to an AHL-only deal on Sept. 2, scored the game-winner on a breakaway with 19 seconds remaining in Austin Carroll’s high-sticking minor. He picked up a fumbled puck as Vancouver Ashton Sautner stumbled in the neutral zone before beating goaltender Michael Garteig five-hole.

“That was a great feeling. Great feeling,” Lomberg said. “I saw it trickle in and I looked up and saw all the boys heading for me. It was awesome. Thrilled it went in.”

Carcone opened the scoring three minutes into a busy second period, electing to keep on a 3-on-1 and beating Calgary starter Nick Schneider with a shot just inside the far post.

Fifty-nine seconds later, Kravchenko tied the game with a tip on Tuulola’s initial shot from the point that beat Vancouver goaltender Thatcher Demko. Lomberg scored his second of the tournament at 6:48, but goals from Subban and Laplante 18 seconds apart on reliever Tyler Parsons leapfrogged the Canucks to a 3-2 lead.

Tuulola drew Calgary even with 32 seconds remaining in the period, gathering the rebound on his own deflection off Kenney Morrison’s initial shot and beating Vancouver starter Thatcher Demko to tie the game 3-3.

“Morrison shot from the blue line and I saw it coming my way so I tried to tip it in but the goalie made the pad save” Tuuloloa said. “Then I just followed my rebound and I had an empty net. It was easy to put that in.”

Tuulola participated in his first tournament. He was selected in the sixth round (No. 156) in June.

“That’s a really awesome feeling, pulling an NHL jersey on,” he said. “It’s always been a dream to being an NHL player. I’m a step closer. It’s a lot of work but I’m ready to do it. I just want to show what kind of player I am and I want to prove I’m a good player.”

Parsons made 10 saves, and Garteig, who relieved Demko, made 15 saves in a scoreless third period.

Source: Lomberg impresses in Young Stars finale versus Canucks – Calgary Flames – News

Leave a Reply

